Miescher-Ishida Prize Foundation

  • The MIESCHER-ISHIDA PRIZE is established to recognize outstanding scientists who discovered or gave unique findings in the field of endocytobiology and to those who have contributed to the development of this science.
  • The establishment of the MIESCHER-ISHIDA PRIZE was suggested by Dr. Masahiro R. Ishida in 1986 and sponsored originally with gold-plated medals, "In commemoration of the discoveries of nuclear and extranuclear DNA". It was later supplemented with 30.000 DM funds by Prof. Dr. Masahiro R. Ishida on the occasion of his retirement.
  • The Prize is awarded in recognition for the DNA isolation by Dr. Friedrich Miescher in Tübingen 1869, and by Dr. Masahiro R. Ishida, who first extracted chloroplast DNA together with Dr. R. Sager in 1961.
  • The Foundation has no legal capacity. Its funds will be administered under the status of a special endowment by the 'Vereinigung der Freunde der Universität Tübingen (Universitätsbund) e.V.', a non-profit corporation.

The MIESCHER-ISHIDA PRIZE was awarded in the last years to:

1986 -
Dr. Lynn Margulis: Resurrection and expansion of the Endosymbiotic Hypothesis (see Endocytobiosis & Cell Research, in the following IJECR, here: IJECR 3 (1986): 245)

1987 - Dr. Kwang W. Jeon: Classic work on interactions between Amoeba proteus and intracellular bacteria (IJECR 5 (1988): 109)

1988 - Dr. Constantin Vago: Early approach to endocytobiology, e.g. intracellular latency of pathogenes (IJECR 6 (1989): 233)

1989 -
Dr. Masahiro Sugiura: First complete DNA sequences of the plastomes from several higher plants (IJECR 9 (1992): 78)

1990 - Dr. Hashime Ishikawa: Discovery of Symbionin and the role of stress proteins in symbiosis (IJECR 9 (1992): 78)

1991 -
Dr. Peter Sitte: Pioneering work on electron microscopy and evolution of cryptophyte nucleomorphs (IJECR 12 (1998): 218)

1992 - Dr. Jean M. Whatley: Concept of cyclical development of plastids and electron microscopical support of Serial Endosymbiosis Theory (IJECR 12 (1998): 219)

1993 -
Dr. Leonard Muscatine: Introduction of green hydra as laboratory model system for studying endocytobioses, outstanding work on metabolism and economy of invertebrate symbioses (IJECR 12 (1998): 220)

1994 - Dr. Robert K. Trench: First description of metabolite flux from kleptochloroplasts to host, leading work on Symbiodinium microadriaticum and C. paradoxa (IJECR 12 (1998): 221)

1995/6 - Dr. Tsuneyoshi Kuroiwa: Innovative work on cytokinesis as well as of organelle division and discovery of „division rings“ in mitochondria and plastids of algae.

1997/8 - Dr. William Martin and Dr. Miclos Müller: Consequent use of molecular cladistic methods in protein evolution research showed a phylogenetic mosaic composition of whole metabolic pathways in eukaryotic cells (Martin), and strong molecular and biochemical exploration of cell organelle related metabolism let discover a new type of eukaryotic exogenosomal cell organelles, the hydrogenosomes (Müller). During the following common work they developed the new and fruitful „Hydrogen hypothesis for the first eukaryote“.

1999/2000 - Dr. Margaret J. McFall-Ngai and Dr. Edward G. Ruby: Their complementary work on a complex sqid/luminous bacteria association (Euprymna/Vibrio), offers this example of symbiosis not only as a model to characterize the mechanisms by which animals establish, develop and maintain more or less stable associations with bacteria, but also as a model of medical interest since exist benign and pathogenic Vibrio species, which can be compared.

2001/2002 - Dr. Geoffrey I. McFadden: Evolution of Plastids, Discovery of Nucleomorphs.

2003/2004 – Dr. Reinhold G. Herrmann: Molecular Analyses of Plastids and their integration in the plant cell.

2005/2006 – Dr. B. Franz Lang: Phylogenetic Analyses of Protists.

2007/2008 – Dr. Johannes Hackstein: Revealing the Biology of Hydrogenosomes.

2009/2010 – Dr. Thomas Börner: Discovery and characterization of organellar phage-type RNA polymerases.


R. Oelmüller (ex officio), Prof. Dr., University of Jena FAX: + 49-3641-949 231
M. Sugiura (ex officio), Prof. Dr., Nagoya University FAX: + 81-52-789 3081
W. Löffelhardt (Vice President) Prof.Dr., Vienna University FAX: + 43-1-4277-9528
J. Obokata (Vice President) Prof. Dr., Nagoya University FAX: + 81-52-789 3083
K. Harter Prof. Dr., University of Tübingen FAX: + 49-7071-29 328
P. Kroth (CRMIP -Secretary) Prof. Dr., University of Konstanz FAX: + 49-7531-88 4816
K. Yoshida Prof. Dr., Hiroshima University FAX: + 81-82-424 0734

Managing Board: The Members of the Recommendation Committee for the MIESCHER-ISHIDA-PRIZE and as representative of the Faculty of Biology at the Tübingen University

K. Harter Prof. Dr., University of Tübingen FAX: +49-7071-29 328
H.E.A. Schenk Prof. Dr., University of Tübingen e-mail: see below

Nominations for the MIESCHER-ISHIDA PRIZE are asked to be sent to H.E.A. Schenk, at present second Secretary for the CRMIP, by e-mail:

Award Announcement 2007




Last modified 2001 by H. Schenk, University Tübingen, and H. Tauchert, University Leipzig,
and 2007 by K. Harter, P.Kroth, W. Löffelhardt, R. Oelmüller and H. Schenk,
© 2003, Prof. Dr. J. Obokata, University Nagoya, Prof. Dr. R. Oelmueller, University Jena